RRO – “Suspension of Belief”

Here are some audio excerpts uploaded to Soundcloud for you. Write if you want a link to recent or longer works (some pieces last 5 or even 48 hours): we are happy to send you samples.

Larry Shipping In Der Abtei Und Saaleaue Bei Planena (1. Teil) A remix of the work commissioned by Radio Revolten featuring Ed Baxter (concept, texts, electronics), Adam Bushell (percussion), Marie Anne Fliegel (speech), Peter Lanceley (electric guitar, singing), Kim Moore (viola), Joe Qiu (bassoon), James Taylor (vibraphone), Milo Thesiger-Meacham (electronics, harpsichord) and Chris Weaver (electronics). The text is in German, the songs in English.

Second Sketch for Larry Shipping. Live at Radiophrenia, CCA, Glasgow, 5 September 2016. Starring Tam Dean Burn (voice) with Ed Baxter (text, direction, electronics), Peter Lanceley (electric guitar, voice, melodies), Kim Moore (viola) and Milo Thesiger-Meacham (electronics). Recorded at Radiophrenia, Glasgow; Telegraph Hill Festival, London; and Radio Revolten, Halle, Spring 2016 to Spring 2017.

Heart Like A Duck – in three parts, live in the Tapestry Room, V&A Museum, as part of Radio V&A, 26 February 2016. Featuring Tom Graham (voice), Adam Bushell (percussion), Keiko Kitamura (bass koto), Peter Lanceley (electric guitar, voice) and Milo Thesiger-Meacham (electronics). Written by Ed Baxter. Songs by Baxter/Lanceley. Music by RRO. Directed by Ed Baxter. Supported by PRS for Music Foundation.

Score for Open Heart Surgery on Charlie Watts. Live at Radiophrenia, CCA, Glasgow, 16 April 2015. Script, direction, bass guitar: Ed Baxter. Voice: Tam Dean Burn. Electric guitar, voice: Peter Lanceley. Viola: Kim Moore. Guitar: Michael Umney. Electronics: Mark Vernon.

Fifth Sketch for Ascent And Descent. Live at Hearsay Festival, Kilfinane, Ireland, 27 November 2014. Script, direction, guitar, telephone, Alka Seltzer: Ed Baxter. Electric guitar, voice, melody: Peter Lanceley. Live sfx mixdown: Sarah Nichol. Narration: Willy Carr.

Pictured: “Suspension of Belief.” Gaz Parry (rock climbing, voice), Kate Mills (rock climbing, voice), Chris Weaver (field recordings, engineer), Jim Perrin (voice), Nick Hamilton (broadcast engineer), Max O’Brien (electronics), Ed Baxter (concept, director). Penon d’Ifach, Alicante, Spain, 2008. Photograph by Chris Weaver.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s